Johnston & Co. was the initial name of the corporation, which was established in 1819. Since then, it has weathered some of the most dramatic events in Irish history and expanded to become the country’s primary book, newspaper, and magazine distributor. In 1886, Charles Eason and his son purchased the company from W.H. Smith during the exciting time of Parnell and the Land League. The corporation played a significant role in the literary and industrial revolutions of the 19th century. The success of their bookstands in train stations was contingent on the rate at which literacy improved. As more people in the country gained the ability to read, the significance of printed materials increased dramatically. (For more information, see L.M. Cullen’s 1989 book “Eason & Son: A History.

Easons.com, established in 1998 to give customers another method to shop for books and Eason Gift Cards, has since become Ireland’s premier online bookstore and eBook retailer. Easons.com offers the same exceptional value and service that is essential to the Eason brand, on a national and international scale, with free delivery to any location in Ireland and the UK for orders over €10. People from all around the world can use the Eason website to buy Irish books that might not be readily available in their own areas. Easons.com was named National Website of the Year by Retail Excellence Ireland in 2012.

Eason and Son now operates over fifty-three stores across the Republic of Ireland, with its flagship location on Dublin’s O’Connell Street. There are four stories of retail space here, as well as reading nooks and a café called The Muse. You may find a wide selection of books, periodicals, greeting cards, and office supplies at any of their locations across the entire island of Ireland. Toys, computer parts, and DVDs can also be found in some stores.

Teen & Young Adult Crime and Thriller Books

THE SHARP EDGE OF SILENCE

By Cameron Kelly Rosenblum

11 April 2023

Success marks Lycroft Phelps students. Charlotte, a straight A student and fiancée of the school’s star rower likes the school. Max, a scholarship student, struggles. Until he’s asked to join the rowing squad, which promises popularity, but at what cost? Quinn, a sixth-generation legacy student, should have unique access to the institution. Who must watch her attacker play at the top of the school’s food chain? Only at night does Q realise the solution to her suffering: Colin Pearce must die. Lycroft Phelps has more than one dark secret, and as the three students discover how far the institution will go to hide them, more than reputation is at stake. A thrilling revenge thriller that will keep you on the edge Kathleen Glasgow, Chelsea Pitcher, and Louise O’Neill fans will love it. THE SHARP EDGE OF SILENCE describes sexual violence, which may upset some readers.

A GOOD GIRL’S GUIDE TO MURDER

By Holly Jackson

02 May 2019

The New York Times No. 1 YA crime thriller everyone is talking about A major BBC series is coming soon! SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN’S BOOK PRIZE 2020 ‘A fiendishly plotted mystery that kept me wondering till the conclusion.’ bestseller The Silent Companions, author Laura Purcell A breakthrough YA criminal thriller as captivating as Serial, Riverdale, and page-turning as One of Us Lies The case is closed. Sal Singh killed schoolgirl Andie Bell five years ago. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it. Pippa Fitz-Amobi, who grew up in the crime-ravaged area, isn’t so convinced. When she chooses the case for her final thesis, she uncovers town secrets someone wants to keep concealed. If the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to hide Pip? One of Us Is Lying, Gone Girl, They Were Liars, and Riverdale fans will love it. Holly Jackson wrote her first (bad) novel at fifteen. Her hobbies include reading, writing, and playing video games and watching true crime documentaries to play detective in London. Her first work is A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

ONE OF US IS LYING

By Karen M. McManus

01 June 2017

Penguin Readers is an ELT graded reader series for EFL learners. The print edition includes instructions to obtain online support, properly modified text, additional images, and language learning tasks. Classics, contemporary fiction, and thought-provoking non-fiction introduce language learners to bestselling writers and engaging topics. Penguin Readers’ eight levels reflect the CEFR for language development. Each Reader includes exercises at the back to develop grammar, vocabulary, and test skills. Before, during, and after-reading questions improve tale comprehension and vocabulary. Level 6 Reader One of Us Is Lying is CEFR B1+. The extended passage uses future continuous, reported inquiries, third conditional, was going to, and ellipsis in phrases with up to four clauses. A few illustrations support the text. Geek, jock, criminal, princess. A murder. Each person has secrets. How far would you defend yours? Four of five Bayview High pupils who stay late survive. Bronwyn, Cooper, Nate, and Addy are murder suspects. You believe whom? Penguin Readers website The print edition unlocks online resources like a digital book, audio edition, lesson plans, and answer keys.

THE MAZE RUNNER

By James Dashner

05 June 2014

The first installment in the internationally successful film franchise starring Dylan O’Brien, based on the New York Times bestseller Read the movies. INVEST IN BOOKS. Make your way into the… When the lift doors open, all Thomas can think of is his first name. He is, however, not alone. The guys all around him greet him as he enters the Glade, a walled encampment in the middle of a strange and terrifying stone maze. The Gladers, like Thomas, have no idea how or why they were trapped in the cave or what has become of the outside world. The only thing they know for sure is that every day when the walls roll back, they will risk everything (even their lives) to find out… The Maze Runner, Book One, is the best-selling book of all time in the New York Times! Currently, Disney+ subscribers can watch a big motion picture. A young adult series with five heart-pounding stories is great for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. Liked The Maze Runner a lot? The Scorch Trials, the sequel, is highly recommended.

Why Do We Recommend Easons?

When it comes to finding the perfect book, it can be overwhelming to decide where to start. That’s where Easons comes in. Not only do they provide an extensive selection of both new releases and classic favorites, but their knowledgeable staff is always eager to offer recommendations and guidance. Plus, with various locations throughout Ireland and an online store, Easons offers convenience for every type of reader. But don’t just take their word for it, give Easons a try and see for yourself why it’s their go-to recommendation for all things books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

Get notified about new articles

×